Close racing brings the 2011 Phuket Dinghy Series to an exciting end

Phuket Dinghy Series

The final weekend of the three-event Phuket Dinghy Series organised by the Phuket King’s Cup Regatta was held off Panwa on Phuket’s East Coast recently.

Twenty-six Optimists and five Lasers competed in the two-day event held 19 and 20 November – the decider in the Series. Six races over the two days meant plenty of points were still available and places could be lost or gained in the overall series.

The pre-race briefing, given by Phuket Dinghy Series Event Manager Commander Pornprom Sakultem of the Royal Thai Navy, outlined the sailing area, courses and discussed tactics. A feature of all events in the Series, the training sessions provided a unique opportunity for the young sailors to learn more about competitive sailing, share their experiences and develop sailing skills further.

On Day 1 of Series III, the sailors were greeted with a light onshore breeze. The course was set offshore, where the wind was stronger, with the surrounding southern Islands as a backdrop.

Battle lines were drawn and the competition resumed between Series leader and 2010 winner Sattahip-native Anapat Ngarmdee, and Phuket-native, Akapoj Kankaew, representing the Phuket Youth Sailing Club. A congested startline saw Anapat away and around the course to take wins in the first two races of the day, with Akapoj close on his heels posting two seconds. In the last race of the day, Akapoj posted a first closing the gap on Anapat who finished fifth.

Day 2 looked to be more of the same, but Anapat stepped up a gear and took three wins from three to take the Series III title with a resounding finish. Akapoj posted a third and two seconds to finish second overall with Terrapong Tokratoak in third.

Close racing in the Laser Class saw places swapped throughout the weekend with Jittawat Boonrat finally coming out on top posting four wins out of six to take the Series III title. Inconsistency let Chut Dawruang down but after a tough battle Chut took second in Series III from Marco Garambois in third.

The 2011 Phuket Dinghy Series saw 39 boats compete overall. Eighteen races in three different locations, pre-regatta training and post-event debriefs gave participants a unique experience that has become the signature of the Phuket Dinghy Series.

Winners of Series III were presented with trophies by Vice Admiral Taratorn Kajitsuwan, Commander Third Naval Area Command. The overall series winners will receive their trophies at the Royal Awards of the Phuket King’s Cup Regatta on Saturday 10th December at Kata Beach Resort & Spa.

Series III Results
Optimist Class
1st Anapat Ngarmdee (10)
2nd Akapoj Kankeaw (12)
3rd Teerapong Tokratoak (19)

Laser Class
1st Jittawat Boonrat (10)
2nd Chut Dawruang (17)
3rd Marco Garambois (19)

Overall Phuket Dinghy Series Results
(after two discards)
Optimist Class
1st Anapat Ngarmdee (18)
2nd Akapoj Kankeaw (35)
3rd Teerapong Tokratoak (47)

Laser Class
1st Trirat Manthong (32)
2nd Jittawat Boonrat (34)
3rd Chut Dawruang (40)

For detailed results, visit

The Phuket Dinghy Series was established by the Phuket King’s Cup Regatta in 2010 to promote and encourage sailing in Thailand by involving young people in the sport. The 2011 Series took place over three weekends in successive months (September 17-18, October 15-16 and November 19-20) and was supported by the Yacht Racing Association of Thailand, the Royal Thai Navy and the Province of Phuket.


Related Post

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.